Little Things

imageListened to the radio this morning, to a man talking about a dead relative’s valuable book collection. He started off by thinking that the book collection defined the man. He ended up, as he disposed of it, item by item, thinking that what we possess is easily lost, easily disposed of. It cannot define us. This is a somewhat liberating thought. I may well start de-cluttering with a less heavy heart. Incidentally, he remembered, not the collections , but the harsh words by this relative.

First editions or Firsts instincts?

2 thoughts on “Little Things”

  1. I have been clearing through my late dad’s hoards (Dad’s Drawers, plisner.haines.wordpress.com) and blogging about the process. The things I have found have most value to me are not the things of actual value, but the little hand written shopping lists used as book marks, and the things that link to fond memories.

    1. I know what you mean, I keep finding little notes from my mother-in-law. Even after quite a while. I keep one in my purse, her scribbles of lottery numbers…..she was very lucky. These things are valuable beyond money.

Leave a Reply

